Chez Norma


A few years back I met Norma through my Secondo Mama Linda.  They have been friends for over 40 years.  The minute I met Norma it was obvious that she was an old soul.  She spoke nothing but kind words, filled the room with laughter and imparted wonderful wisdom.   She is the type of person that when you are around her, you leave feeling so much better for having spent time in her presence.  This past week I was able to go to St. Regis with her & Linda for the  Tea Time de Madame Cliquot.  We were poured a glass of Veuve yellow label and demi sec to start. Our high tea meal consisted of 6 different tea sandwiches, two scones and assorted petits fours. After the champagne was finished we moved onto the Organic Vanilla Rooibos tea with honey. 

One of my fondest memories of Norma is her flan.  On Christmas Eve she brought over this truly incredible flan. I’m not a huge fan, so when I tasted it, I knew the recipe was in order. Once I got the recipe, I tried several cooking stores looking for the bowl she used.  After weeks of searching I contacted her.  As she laughed and swore me to secrecy, (sorry Norma…got to give it up today) she said I would never find it in a cooking store because it was a dog bowl.  We fondly refer to this recipe as dog bowl flan. It comes out perfect every time and I hide the bowl before any guests come over!  So I was blessed again with another recipe from Norma.  It is very simplistic but extra tasty. 
Preheat the oven to 450 degrees. Get one very ripe plantain. Slice through the skin, but not into the plantain.  
Using your finger, gently run it along the edges of the plantain to remove and loosen it from the skin.  Using your favorite sea salt (I find Baleine from France works great), generously salt the plantain and place it back into the skin.  Take tinfoil and wrap it tightly and place into the oven.


After 20-25 minutes, remove from the oven.  It’s a steaming when you undo the tinfoil so be careful. Hit with another shot of sea salt, slice and enjoy.  Thanks Norma!!
A few notes about plantains if you’ve never bought them before.  They look like bananas but are never eaten raw, only cooked.  They come from many countries such as Peru, Brazil or Taiwan and are usually more starchy than the typical banana.  Look for ones that are really ripe, with brown spots, and soft to the touch.  Plantains are a great source of fiber, potassium, Vitamin A & C. On average for 1 cup cooked plantain runs about 220 calories.  Feel free to email me any great recipes you might have and I’ll post them! Ciao-

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chez Norma

  1. Nanda Mama

    Hi Melissa,
    You don’t know me but Norma is my Segunda Mama. I loved your post! And your blog. The dog bowl – that sounds like Norma.

    In peace,
    Keisha

  2. Melissa

    Hi Keisha,
    I am so happy you are enjoying the blog. Aren’t segunda mamas the best!

    Take care,
    Melissa

Leave a Reply

