Locavore Finds & Luscious Fish

This past week I have been house-sitting for my brother and his family.  I had to of course include photos of their three adorable pets.  Skye the Golden Retriever, Luke the Siamese, and Princess the Calico.  I felt like the female version of Dr. Doolittle.  7 a.m. and everyone was up wanting to play.  REALLY??? What does one do at 7 a.m. ? Well, Princess wants to drink out of the bathroom sink, Luke was like, “Dude, I know you like to cook, but can you please get on with giving me some Meow Mix, and Skye was just happy to be well…happy.

DSC01330

DSC01313

DSC01324

And at 7 a.m. when you walk up on a weasel eating a fish on the shore, I swear it looks like a 25 lb rat that will send one shrieking back to the house. Wikipedia has nothing on the real deal.  So in my  quest of staying in a new town for a week and wanting to get as far away as possible from the weasel, I Googled all foodie things and here is what I found.

Struther’s Honey.  Local honey paid for on the honor system!!  If they mail you honey, they ask that you send them a check AFTER you receive it.  This company has been around since 1935 and is still doing business the old fashion way. The honey here is raw. If you are interested in the difference between regular honey and raw honey, here is an article.  Got to love it!

DSC01303

DSC01304

DSC01305

Junior’s Fish Market. I was pleased to see that this company was focused on locally caught fish.  I purchased a piece of wild salmon (not local I know!) and will share the mouth watering recipe with you in a bit. Junior was actually there and a super nice guy.  He went out of his way to talk about the types of fish he carried and where he was getting the fish from.  When I see “color-enhanced” or “farmed raised” I run. It is worth the extra time & effort to find a really knowledgeable fish monger.

And to eat local I went to Tsumani Sushi and got the Bubba Roll.  Only in Florida!

So get your taste buds going, find a local fish monger and enjoy. (Recipe adapted from Alice Water’s – The Art of Simple Food).

Baked Wild Salmon with Herb Butter- serving for 1

Herb Butter:

Stir together:

2 tablespoons of organic unsalted butter

1 tablespoon chopped cilantro

1 small garlic clove, minced

squeeze of lemon juice

salt and fresh ground pepper to taste

pinch of red pepper flakes

Baked Wild Salmon:

Purchased a slice  of salmon (skin on) that will fill you up.

Preheat oven to 425 F.  Brush salmon with a little EVOO as well as the bottom of a glass baking dish. Season with salt and fresh ground pepper.  Bake approximately 10-12 minutes.  Spoon over ALL the herb butter and dig in!

DSC01332

*I used cilantro because I had it on hand, but you can use any fresh herb (parsley, sage, basil or chive).  You can even do a whole stick of butter, just increase the herb to 1/2 cup and freeze what you don’t use.*

Tried my hand at an apple tart.  It looked real pretty, but the crust was just so-so. Apples were delicious though. Anyone out there with a fabulous tart recipe? Once I’ve mastered it, I’ll post the recipe.

DSC01318

DSC01319

DSC01321

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

