Crab Boil For My Niece

DSC01501Sweet 13!  I can’t believe my beautiful niece is 13 years old.  She is so gracious, kind and loving.  I couldn’t be prouder.  And when asked what she wanted for her birthday, I was expecting the latest Hollister outfit, Juicy purse or new electronic gadget, but no she said crabs legs and cheesecake at Grandma’s.  Is she a girl after my own heart or what??  This recipe has come from my secondo mama.  It is a great summer meal to be placed out on a picnic table covered in newspaper with bowls of melted butter and cocktail sauce.  My father has rigged up this crazy double burner with gas, but I have cooked it at home on the stove as well.  DSC01521This recipe is called a Shrimp Boil, but we put the crab in at the very end for an additional two minutes for the birthday girl.

Ingredients:

2 1/2 -3 lbs. of shrimp (medium or large)

18 new potatoes

6 ears of corn (cut in half)

6 carrots

4 stalks of celery

1 large onion (sliced thickly)

4 tablespoons or more to taste of  Old Bay Seasoning

1/2 cup to 1 cup Salt

Procedure:

Place carrots, celery and onion on the bottom of a 5 quart saucepan. Place whole potatoes on top. Season with salt. Fill half way with water or just enough to barely cover the potatoes. Cover with a lid. Bring to a boil.

Cook for 15 minutes.

Add corn. Cook for 15 minutes.

Add shrimp and Old Bay Seasoning.  Cook 6 minutes.

Drain and pour into large dish to serve.

DSC01526My mother’s cheesecake recipe goes back to the year one. The paper is all tattered and yellowed after the years. She said she is taking the recipe to the grave with her and stashes it in a secret draw. So sorry folks, would love to share it with you, but can report after all these years it is still the best cheesecake I have ever had!  I guess that is why my niece requested it.

Being Julia Child’ birthday this weekend, I think we would have made her proud. The table was full of laughter and memories made through a 13 year old’s request for some wonderful food!  Bon Appetit!!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Crab Boil For My Niece

  1. Norma Madeo

    Linda once shared this recipe w/me… but I’ve never made it. Your photo of the platter is Fabulous… and the contraption your Dad rigged up looks very interesting!! Your nieces are lucky gals.
    Love Mindful Meals!!!

Leave a Reply

