The Windy City and Summer Fare

DSC01537

Chicago is a wonderful city in the summer.  Temperature is great, sun is out, and tons of activities going on. For eight years I’ve been wanting to try Rick Bayless’ Frontera Grill on North Clark Street. Unbeknownst to me, he was currently in the running for Top Chef Masters competition and won the night I was there. Which might have explained the line around the block.  Since I had waited eight years, I thought, “Hey, what is a half hour at this point.”  And being the ever determined lady that I am, I wove my way in, scored a seat at the bar and watched the final episode, while dining on his Mexican “alimento.”  Here is a great article about his winning Oaxacan Black Mole recipe.  The mole took him 20 years to master, with 27 different ingredients. The best part is he won $100,000 and is donating it to support local farmers in the midwest.

DSC01532This weekend I made a really tasty summer dish of poached salmon with tarragon sauce and fingerling potatoes.  This dish is from a friend and the flavors are really incredible.  The tarragon sauce totally makes it. Poaching the salmon is super easy and you end up with a really moist piece of fish.  I blanched the snap peas and then sauteed them in a little butter and lemon juice. The recipe is online at epicurious.  Up next week is tempeh in coconut mango quinoa.
DSC01548

randy clr. stk. 82309 017

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “The Windy City and Summer Fare

  1. Norma Madeo

    Seriously… you would be great at traveling around the world writing food articles for all the food & wine (type) magazines!!! I wish you would get discovered..already!!!

  2. fortyonthemat

    Me too!! That would be a fabulous job!!

  3. Kelly

    You are my hero!! I would follow you around the world!!

Leave a Reply

