Champagne, Cannoli & Chicago

ONLY THE UNIMAGINATIVE CAN FAIL TO FIND A REASON FOR DRINKING CHAMPAGNE. – OSCAR WILDE

DSC01733What better way to be grateful for finally getting the green light on my paperwork and moving to Chicago than to celebrate at one of my favorite places Pops For Champagne.  A brisk chill in the air and a Rose’ to toast.  Having researched the best bakery, I found Nalatina.  Sheep milk ricotta flown in daily from Sicily to make the cannoli. Okay, twist my arm.  This was the most decadent piece of heaven I have had in a long time. So smooth and creamy.  It went down way too fast and I will definitely be back for more.

DSC01722

DSC01727

DSC01726I wrapped up this grateful day, by going to my local farmer’s market and making a dinner out of some of the beautiful items that were available. Michigan apples that screamed “make an apple pie,”  greens, root vegetables, sunflower heads the size of Chicago deep dish pizzas.  The only sad part is the season is almost over with.  It is hard to believe it was this time last year that I started NGI.  I remember bowls of delicious soups and roasting root vegetables. It is such a joy to be in a city with seasons again.

DSC01743

THREE BE THE THINGS I SHALL NEVER ATTAIN; ENVY, CONTENT,AND SUFFICIENT CHAMPAGNE. – DOROTHY PARKER

DSC01739Can’t wait to show everyone what the Windy City has to offer!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Champagne, Cannoli & Chicago

  1. Norma Madeo

    Glad to see that Mindful Meals continues… from Chicago!! Never met a person who didn’t love the windy City. I’ve never been, but maybe one day.
    Again, congratulations on your new job and the move to this wonderful City.

Leave a Reply

