Caputo’s

DSC01772

This weekend I’m a little under the weather and was craving a bowl of my grandma’s escarole soup.  And bam, Caputo’s popped into my head.  It had been at least 10 years since I had been there.  My grandparents had come to visit me in Chicago in 1999.  I remember a total random stranger had told me about Caputo’s and their tasty little mozzarella balls. Once I went there, I knew that grandma would love it.  I’ll never forget the delight in my grandma’s eyes as she walked in and saw the produce.  After we got home with our goods, we spent the next 7 hours cooking.  My poor grandfather kept washing all these dishes and granny just kept on cooking.  I remember grandpa saying at one point, “I’ve already washed this pan three times.”

Needless to say, my freezer & fridge was stocked full and I ate like a queen for months.  Here are some pictures from the store.

DSC01774Escarole!!  YEAH!

DSC01775Roast those peppers up, add a little olive oil and garlic.  Now we  are talking.

DSC01776Pasta anyone?

So I bought some of those little mozzarella balls, escarole, peppers, olives, and pasta.  Nothing like feeding a cold.

DSC01780

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Caputo’s

  1. Mom

    Those tomatoes look like the real deal. Nice and red and jucy. Yummy! The salad looks delicious.

  2. fortyonthemat

    I really lucked out on that tomato- that’s for sure. It was super ripe and perfect with the little balls.

Leave a Reply

