The Unexpected

This was an interesting start of the weekend for sure! Something happened to me that has never ever occurred. (More to come in a bit) Saturday I had a teacher certification exam that lasted almost 4 hours.  120 multiple choice questions and two essays.  By question 80, my eyes had glazed over and all I could think about was where to celebrate after all that craziness.  Well, the train took me to Millenium Park (where the Bean is) and at the end of the park is a restaurant called Tavern At The Park.  With temperatures dipping down to 3 degrees, it was nice to be inside a spacious bar overlooking the park lit up at night.

I had perused the menu the day before and was ready to get my chow on.  I ordered the drink called “Them Apples.”  Which was Woodford Reserve Bourbon from Kentucky, organic maple syrup, and apple juice. 3 degrees calls for Bourbon for some reason.

And my new thing is to order appetizers.  You get a chance to sample a few different items and the size is usually enough to fill me up.  So the first appetizer I got was Scallop Risotto.  It had a seared scallop on top of risotto with fresh strawberries, aged balsamic vinegar and parmesan cheese.

Next up was butternut squash ravioli.  The ravioli was served with toasted pine nuts, sage, basil pesto, squash straws (which I have to learn how to make) and brown butter.

I began eating and drinking all three items at the same time.  Which is a Mindful Meals pet peeve.  Why  do restaurants serve everything at once??  Anyways, after a few minutes this is how my lips looked (Minus the Jessica Simpson hair and makeup).  WTF??

Seriously, I have no idea what happened.  Food allergies have always ranked right up there with Friday the 13th being an unlucky day- it never jived in my world.  I actually found a website that showed 185 items that could cause immediate lip swelling.  Frog legs? Really.  All I could think about was Wanda from the show In Living Color.  So here is my diagnosis, 3 degrees outside, Year of the Ox, and half moon tonight.  Or maybe, Tavern At The Park put on their website they won the 2009 Open Table award and it was no where to be found.  Either way, the food was great, they did win City Search’s top Lunch Spot for 2009 and after 10 minutes in the freezing cold, I couldn’t feel what was left of my lips anyways. It was all good!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Unexpected

  1. Kelly

    Great Blog!!! The food looks absolutely to die for!!! I only regret not seeing your lips all jacked up on appetizer’s………next time point that camera at yourself and not at Jessica. LOL

  2. Melissa

    I don’t want to scare away the blog readers by posting a picture of that! Even Gromit gave me one of those “Dude, what’s up with that” look when I came home!

Leave a Reply

