Hua Chai Bpoh

Hua Chai What???  And no, it’s not an exotic version of Chai Tea.  Hua chai bpoh is actually preserved daikon from Thailand.  There are two varieties; one is more salty, whereas the other one is more sweet.  This is the sweeter version.  The preserved daikon is usually put in Pad Thai.  It comes shredded in strips or minced as above.  Kasma, who taught me all there is to know about Thai cooking, said that this little gem is wonderful in eggs. Hua Chai Bpoh can be found in Asian grocery stores and will keep on the shelf for about 2 years.

This week for lunch I had some roasted veggies, greens and pasta all thrown together.  From beginning to end, it took me 30 minutes to make.  A comment was made that I must live alone in order to eat so healthy.  And it made me really sad. Good, healthy food isn’t hard to make or time consuming. I mean it’s no Amy’s in the microwave and you are eating within 5 minutes, but where have things gone wrong with how we prepare and view food?  I guess it goes back to personal choice.  What I put in my body is a statement of who I am.  Do I want that to be real food, or a box of ingredients with 80% processed junk in it?  Don’t get me wrong…I still love a bag of Garrett’s.

But, I hope through this blog a shift in how one thinks about food occurs. The mind set that “good healthy” food is only for those who know how to cook and have loads of spare time is all a state of mind and not true! Remember the popcorn blog… both versions take 5 minutes to make.  So mix things up, cook something your have never had before.  You might just end up with something delicious that leaves a smile on your face.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Hua Chai Bpoh

  1. Tecla

    Hey, Melissa! I saw that you’d become friends with Shannon (my sister) on FB, so I clicked to see how you’re doing. I LOVE your blog. I’ll definitely be checking back. I hope you’re enjoying Chicago. It’s one of my favorite places in the world.

    • Melissa

      Hi Tecla:
      I am so glad you are enjoying the blog- it’s a real pleasure to write it each week and grateful people are reading it. It is crazy finding all these people I used to ski with back in the day on FB. Small world!

Leave a Reply

