A New Kitchen

This weekend I will be moving into a new place with a much bigger kitchen!  So time to check out some new locale isn’t in the cards, but had a few things I wanted to share. The Oscar nominations came out this week and Meryl Streep was nominated as best actress in Julie & Julia.  Food Inc. was also nominated for best documentary.

And I came across a new book that came out by Jonathan Foer called Eating Animals.  Here is the review from Publisher’s Weekly:

The latest from novelist Foer is a surprising but characteristically brilliant memoir-investigation, boasting an exhaustively-argued account of one man-child’s decade-long struggle with vegetarianism. On the eve of becoming a father, Foer takes all the arguments for and against vegetarianism a neurotic step beyond and, to decide how to feed his coming baby, investigates everything from the intelligence level of our most popular meat providers-cattle, pigs, and poultry-to the specious self-justifications (his own included) for eating some meat products and not others. Foer offers a lighthearted counterpoint to his investigation in doting portraits of his loving grandmother, and her meat-and-potatoes comfort food, leaving him to wrestle with the comparative weight of food’s socio-cultural significance and its economic-moral-political meaning. Without pulling any punches-factory farming is given the full expose treatment-Foer combines an array of facts, astutely-written anecdotes, and his furious, inward-spinning energy to make a personal, highly entertaining take on an increasingly visible (and book-selling) moral question; call it, perhaps, An Omnivore’s Dilemma.

Also, is a video clip of Jonathan Foer talking about his book on the Ellen Show.

My mom surprised me this week with a picture of one of her loaves of bread.  She never ceases to amaze and inspire me.  (This is as big as the picture would go – sorry!)  She put her initials on the bread using rice flour before it went in to bake.


A few weeks ago it was in the single digits and I found myself holed up in a corner at Borders trying to thaw out and get feeling back into my toes.  I had been wanting to take a look at a cookbook called Monofuku. The chef has four restaurants in New York and I had been to one.  Never got dinner (unfortunately…..long story).  The cookbook is not for the faint of heart.  Be sure to bring your A-game with this one, or better yet, just go eat at his restaurants. I was really inspired by his take on the caprese salad.

It’s a little time consuming, but well worth the effort.  I had found an heirloom tomato mix at Trader Joes and decided to do a play on Momofuku’s recipe.  First I made a little “X” with a paring knife on the bottom of each tomato.  Into a pot of salted boiling water they went for 10-15 seconds.  The tomatoes went straight into an ice bath, which allowed the skins to be removed easily.  Next I made a standard vinegarette.  3 parts oil to 1 part vinegar.  I also added to it a 1/4 tsp. of Dijon mustard and 1/4 tsp. of honey.  Adjust the flavor to your liking.  I drizzled the vinegarette over the tomatoes and toped with chopped parsley.  It was so tasty.

On the plate was a really simple dinner.  I chopped zucchini and red pepper and put this over a piece of salmon in a baking dish.   Drizzled the whole thing with EVOO, salt, & pepper and baked at 350 for 15 minutes.  While that was going I sauteed some spinach in a little EVOO.  Easy peesy!

My new kitchen!!  What should be the first meal? Any requests?

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “A New Kitchen

  1. Mom

    I am sure you are going to enjoy your new kitchen. If you remember I had trouble turning around in your old one. Might have been the combination of hip size and the size of the purse on my shoulder.
    Just for the record, the initials on the bread was done with AP flour. I do use rice flour, but just for dusting the inside of my baking forms as rice flour is the best to use when you don’t want your dough to stick.
    PS. I suggest the first thing you buy for your new place is a step ladder. Those cabinets look a bit high for little people to reach.

  2. Kelly

    OMG your Mom is turning into a comedian!!! It sounds just like something I would have said …….to my…….little friend. (However you know I would have used the M word)
    I would like to order sticky rice with mango. I boy I sure do love that dish!!
    Can’t wait to turn around in that kitchen in April!!!

    • Melissa

      I have always looked at being vertically challenged as a gift. In Kindergarten I got all A’s in the “stop, drop & roll” activity, due to being so close to the ground! Not to mention, good things come in small packages!

  3. Joe Hartman

    Spaghetti and meatballs

Leave a Reply

