Tres Amigos en la Cocina – Part I

I’m really excited about the week’s blog. I thought it would be fun to have some guest cooks talk about their recipes this week.  So, my brother Curtis, my BFF Kelly, and Mom are all going to share a little something something with us this week. Drumroll please….

Up first- my bro. His recipe wouldn’t be complete if there wasn’t a picture of him barefooting.

For Christmas Curt asked for a new set of pots and pans.  Not sure what happened, but he has turned into a baker.  He claims the weather is too cold and rainy to get a good barefoot run in, so turned to baking to fill the extra void of time.  Cherry pie has always been one of Curt’s favorite desserts.  It didn’t matter what holiday it was, a Mrs. Smith’s Cherry Pie was in the oven.  Maybe growing up in Michigan, which is considered the nation’s #1 cherry producing state, he was born to love cherry’s.  I have fond memories of his wife Melinda always making him Cherry Yum-Yum. (Sorry, no recipe for that).  Now at Christmas time, Curt will order in cherry pies straight from Michigan.  So it doesn’t surprise me when he said he made a Black Forest cake this past weekend.  I found this recipe which looked similar to the one he made.

The cake looks delicious and want to send a long distance hug to Curt.  Thanks for sending in the picture.

Next, my BFF Kelly Sue.

In ninth grade I met Kelly Sue. She was and still is the coolest chic ever.  She’s coined a phrase, that I often refer to in moments of crisis.  Link is here.  I remember Kelly coming over to my studio apartment when I lived across the street from her about 10 years ago.  I didn’t have a clue how to cook and she walked me through some amazing dishes.  Kelly has been a vegetarian for many years. She is beautiful, kind, and compassionate beyond measure.  If you want to donate to a good cause Kelly started a dog rescue group called Lost Angels. She personally goes to the dog pound and gets the dogs that are considered “not adoptable.” She rehabilitates them and to date she has placed over 700 adorable dogs. Okay…back to the food…

Her vegetarian dish this week is a take on “chicken parmesan.”

Here are her notes on how to make it:

It had roasted eggplant, roasted peppers, roasted onions, roasted shitake mushrooms, Amy’s organic marinara sauce1/2 cup, 1/2 cup whole wheat penne pasta and a new product I found.  It is a soy protein chicken substitute.  It is made by Gardein.  For one chick’n scallopini you get 2g fat, only 90 calories, zero cholesterol and 14g of protein.  It tastes great.  Best of all, since I learned from the best (Chef Mel)  I made sure that it is made from NON GENETICALLY ENGINEERED SOYBEANS.  I first sauted my soy chick on my grill with EVOO and some garlic sea salt.  Then I put all my roasted ingredients in skillet with 3/4 cup marinara sauce and pasta. I also added one spash of hot sause.  Once heated through I then put in my baking dish with my soy chicken on top and one roasted eggplant on top of that .  Pour over all of this remaining marinara sauce and a little mozzarella cheese.  Bake at 300 for about 15 minutes until it is all heated and melted.  Yummy.

Yeah Kelly!  This Gardein product looks very interesting.  They use the non genetically engineered soybeans, seitan, along with a mix of what is considered “ancient grains” that are super healthy.  (quinoa, amaranth, millet and kamut).  Chef Tal Ronnen, who graduated from NGI was endorsing this product on Oprah’s 21 day cleanse. Gardein comes out of Canada.  I’m excited to try this product and have a bag in the freezer as we speak.  Stay tuned.

And our third cook this week is my dear Mom.  Her book club this week is meeting at her house.  They read “Mennonite in a little Black Dress: A Memoir of Going Home.”  Mom never does anything ever half-assed. As you can imagine, she researched the perfect recipes to go along with the story.  Are you ready for this??? Borscht soup with Zwieback bread.  Part II coming soon….


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Tres Amigos en la Cocina – Part I

  1. Pingback: Creme di Melicello « Mindful Meals

Leave a Reply

