3.14

Click here!!!

I know you are asking what is this girl up to???  Well that little diagram is known as Pi or 3.14.

And what is today??? 3.14.10 or better yet 3.14  PIE DAY!!!  YEAH PIE!!! Who doesn’t love a good pie? My Mom had bought me a King Arthur pie crust mix and with the help of three of the best bakers I know, we are going to celebrate PI DAY!!!  Get your elastic waistband sweat pants on because you are going to need it after these three luscious pies. (All recipes will be included at the end).

Up first is my secundo mama. She made a scrumptious Strawberry Pie.

And I quote, “I chose this pie because here in Florida it is strawberry season. We are a few miles from the Strawberry Capital of the World, Plant City, where the strawberries have their own festival and a queen.  This pie is constructed starting with a pie crust that is precooked and then has a layer of cream cheese.  The strawberries are placed on the cream cheese, and the remaining strawberries are cooked into a sauce and poured over the fresh strawberries and cooled. The pie is then served with whipped cream that has been kicked up a notch with Grand Marnier.”

Next, is my good friend Carol from Gulfport, FL.  She made a Double Chocolate Silk Pie.

And I quote, “Ode To Pie:
I love Pie
my oh my
don’t ask me why
brings tears to my eyes
and fat to my thighs
I’ll eat it and love it til the day I die
I love pie

I chose this Double Chocolate Silk Pie because it is easy to make and it is delicious.  I knew I had a winner when a friend took a bite and said “it’s like makin’ love”  I know, ya can’t go wrong with that kind of compliment.”


And last but not least is Toni’s pie hailing from Connecticut with her Apple-Walnut Custard Tart.  I met Toni through my friend Laura and only she can appreciate my infatuation with “Ralphie” a.k.a. Joey Pant at yoga class. I don’t have a picture of her, but trust me, she is cute as a button and this pie rocked the house!!

So before the recipes are posted, I just wanted to thank Linda, Carol and Toni for submitting three of the best pies I’ve seen to date! I’m thinking “PI Day” should become an annual tradition!

STRAWBERRY PIE:

Grand Marnier Strawberry Pie

1 precooked pie crust (use your favorite recipe)

1 qt. strawberries

1 cup sugar

3 Tbl corn starch

8 oz cream cheese

Soften cream cheese with a small amount of milk or whatever flavoring you like (I substituted Grand Marnier) and spread on pie crust.  Set one-half of the strawberries on the cream cheese layer.  Mash the remainder of the berries and add the sugar and corn starch.  Once the strawberries, sugar and corn starch are mixed together and heated, put in blender and puree the sauce.  Bring to a boil and cook 10 minutes to thicken.  Cool and pour over berries, top with whipped cream.

Whipped Cream:

1 cup whipping cream

3 T sugar

1 T Grand Marnier

1/2 tsp. vanilla.

Beat to soft peaks and serve a dollop on top of the pie.

Double Chocolate Silk Pie:

Crust:

Combine 1 1/2 cups chocolate wafer crumbs and 6 tablespoons unsalted melted butter.  Press the mixture into the bottom and up sides of a 9 inch pie plate; chill while you are making the filling.

Filling:

In  double boiler scald 1 1/2 cups heavy cream; stir in 3 tablespoons sugar and a pinch of salt.  In a small bowl, beat 5 egg yolks lightly.  Whisk about a 1/4 cup hot cream into yolks to warm them. Transfer to double boiler and cook over simmering water, whisking constantly until the custard just begins to thicken and coats the back of a spoon.  Remove from heat, add 10 ounces of semisweet chocolate finely chopped, and 1 1/2 teaspoons of vanilla.  Stir the chocolate until it melts and the custard is smooth.  Pour the custard filling into the pie crust.  Cool to room temperature.  Place plastic wrap directly on the filling to prevent a skin from forming.  Refrigerate pie over night.  remove plastic, garnish with chocolate scrolls, whipped cream or a raspberry sauce.

Apple-Walnut Custard Tart

Tart Pastry- use your favorite

Ingredients:

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1/3 cup sugar

3 large apples ( I used Gala) peeled, cored and cut into 1/2″ dice

For Walnut Custard:

1/4 cup walnuts, pulverized

1/2 cup walnuts, chopped

1 egg

2 tbsp. sugar

1/2 cup heavy cream

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. salt

Apricot Glaze

Procedure:

Preheat oven to 425.  Roll out the pastry dough and use to line a 9″ tart pan.  Bake curst fully, until browned & crisp. Cool before filling.

Reduce heat to 350.

Combine butter and sugar in a large skillet and cook over moderate heat, stirring constantly until melted and bubbling, then cook for 2 mintues more, stirring constantly.  Add the apples and cook, stirring and tossing frequently until they are slightly golden and any juices have evaporated, about 8 mintues. Spread the apple mixture in the cooled tart shell.

To make custard, in a bowl whisk together the pulverized walnuts, egg, sugar, cream, vanilla, and salt.  Pour over apples.  Sprinkle the chopped walnuts on top and bake until the custard is set, about 25 mintues.

Remove from the oven and let cool for 20 minutes.  Brush the top with warm apricot glaze (1/3 cup from Apricot Jam that is heated to a boil with a little water added to make it spreadable.)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “3.14

  1. Linda

    Thank you Melissa,
    I can’t wait to try the other 2 PI recipes.

    xxoo Secundo Mama

  2. Melissa

    Nothing like a good collaboration of pies!

  3. I’m so glad you made the pi! It looks georgeous. I feel like I’ve finally made it now that on your blog! Will have to add you to my blog roll at lessonsonthejob.blogspot.com

    Miss you – Toni

    • Melissa

      Toni-that pi was amazing! I ate about 3/4 of it all on my own- thanks again for passing it along. You are right about Roxy- finding those every day happy moments makes a world of difference. Glad to see you are back doing your blog. Talk soon-

Leave a Reply

