Hummus- Old School

Hummus,  nothing beats the fresh, homemade kind.  I have a friend from Israel, that told me one day, “Melissa, the way to a Jewish man’s heart is through the chickpea.”   He said real hummus is  made with middle eastern chickpea (see link) and an equally good quality tahini.

And as I was getting ready to make the hummus, I got to thinking about how it was made before the invention of the food processor.  Hummus was around centuries ago, so how did they make it back then?

To digress a bit, anyone read the April 2010 Vanity Fair article, “The New Commandments?”  I love where the author says, “Turn off that F%$^* cell phone-you have no idea how unimportant your call is to us.”

What did we do before the cell phone, the internet, twitter?  Today’s kitchen seems to have moved along at this face pace and morphed into this strange land of  electronic gadgets.  I had a great time making lemon bars the other day  and using nothing but my fingers to mix up the shortbread. Move with the times, or get left behind, but I really wanted to make hummus- old school- no food processor.

I began with a cup of  chickpeas soaked overnight.  I rinsed them off and brought them to a low boil for about an hour. Then I crushed them with my mortar and pestle.

To that I added approximately:  (all goes on your own taste)

1 cup olive oil

3/4 cup tahini

Lemon juice from 2 large lemons

2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. cumin.

I whipped it up like a crazy woman- we are talking major elbow grease here folks. And the end result was a chunkier version than store bought,  but oh soooo good!

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Hummus- Old School

  1. Kelly

    Am I getting this served to me this weekend?????
    Oh my ….my mouth is watering….

  2. Norma Madeo

    Thanks so much for this Hummus recipe…one of my granddaughter is a Hummus fanatic. (In fact lately I’ve been calling her “Hummus”)
    I will make this for her!!!
    Hope all is going well for you in Chi-town.

Leave a Reply

