Do Chua


It was a beautiful day in Chicago and I headed downtown for a few events. There was a huge floral carpet display at the John Hancock Tower done with over 6,000 flowers. Truly stunning. The Celtic Fest was also going on in Millenium Park this weekend.  I soaked up the sun and enjoyed listening to the bag pipe players as they strolled through. (I got picked to share my weekend experience with Clifford.  I can’t wait for the little ones at school to learn about a kilt!  I owe that guy big time for the picture!)

But the real highlight of the day was meeting Farmer Ben for a fermentation class. Last weekend at the tea tasting, the lady sitting next to me started telling me about it. Once she said Ben was teaching how to make coconut yogurt, I was in.

Ben is not only an organic farmer here in Chicago, but he also works at Chicago Honey Co-op.  He couldn’t have been more friendly.  My mental image of a farmer has been officially dismantled!

Before I divulge the coconut yogurt recipe, I want to try it out.  So stay tuned next weekend, and I’ll let you know how it goes.

Not only can you ferment dairy products, but you can also ferment vegetables.  There are numerous health benefits to eating fermented foods, such as increasing vitamin levels and putting back in healthy flora into our stomachs.  Probably the most familiar fermented food we are used to is sauerkraut.  I had tried a Vietnamese fermented food called Do Chau awhile ago and really enjoyed it.  Come to find out, after a bit of research, it is super easy to make and quite tasty.  There are only 5 ingredients and you can find the recipe here.

If you are interested in making yogurt, keifer, creme fraiche or pickling vegetables a good place to start is a book called Wild Fermentation or the section in Nourishing Traditions.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Do Chua

  1. Fascinating article. Thank you for posting

  2. Melissa

    Thank you for the comment!

Leave a Reply

