To Good To Be True & More Tea

I have mentioned before that at NGI we had an entire day of cooking tofu and seitan.  At the end of it, I decided any protein I was going to get would be from eggs, hummus, cheese, and beans.  I took a shot at trying seitan and tofu cooked by professionals from California to Miami, and still my resounding conclusion was, “NO THANKS.”   That was until last week…my friend Kelly rings and says, “Hey, have you tried Field Roast.” I gave her my typical, they all taste the same, blah blah blah speech. But she insisted and told me her recipe.

The recipe sounded great, and figured what did I have to lose. Not to mention she sounded so convincing. I bought a package of the Italian Field Roast sausages and sautéed them in a little EVOO. When they had browned nicely, I removed them and sautéed cabbage next.  I tossed this altogether with salt, pepper and garlic powder.

The sausage is made of seitan, eggplant, onion, red bell pepper, red wine, garlic and sea salt.  Folks, I am not into mock products, but this tasted exactly like an Italian sausage.  So Kelly, thank you for telling me about this product and your recipe.

One of my favorite things to do is to get all dressed up and go to high tea.  A few fond memories have been… Mother’s Day a few years ago. I took my Mom, Secundo Mama, and grandmother all to the Ritz Carlton in Sarasota and we sipped tea like queens while listening to a woman playing the harp. Even got my mom a teapot charm for her bracelet to mark the occasion.

The following year, Linda and I surprised my Mom for her birthday with a tea party.  It was such a special day- even if my Dad lost her whereabouts and she arrived an hour late!! Planning it all out was just as fun as seeing my Mom’s face when she walked in.

Tea with my nieces at the American Girl Store. (Can you say thank you for Champagne!!  Remember Mom?) England sitting in a rose garden with the biggest bowl of luscious Devonshire Cream….

The last time I had high tea was in New York with my Secundo Mama and Norma. We went to The St. Regis Hotel on 5th Avenue and enjoyed the afternoon sipping champagne, drinking our tea, and nibbling away on scones that only angels could have made.

Yes, I do love tea!

I happened to be reading about a restaurant when I saw that they offered high tea on Saturday and figured why not. The restaurant is called Chalkboard. What I love about this place is that the menu changes daily and is posted on a huge chalkboard.

The other thing I liked about it was that three doors down is an Austrian coffee shop I had been wanting to try called Julius Meinl.

Chalkboard happens to serve their tea & coffee. So I killed two birds with one stone.

I’m not sure what was better the dessert plate or the two older woman next to me, who happened to be very liberal and were discussing their theories on Sarah Palin.  Yes, I was a nosy Rosy!!  The one lady spoke French and it happened to be her birthday.  She was smiling while getting her picture taken and said to the camera, “Fromage.”  It was too funny!

The little orange fruit is a Kumquat.  You eat these raw, and they have a sweet/sour/salty taste to them. Originally they were from China and arrived to the U.S. in the late 1800’s.  They are grown in Florida and California.  I was served a kumquat marmalade with the scone- really nice with the Devonshire Cream!

11 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

11 responses to “To Good To Be True & More Tea

  1. Mom

    Well, I never thought I would see the day when an Italian would think Tofu tasted like good Italian sausage. Come on, where are your roots?? A great sausage blended with fresh pork, fennel seeds, garlic, spices and maybe a touch of cheese? Compared to TOFU!!!! I am not in the grave but if I was I would be turning. In fact I think I hear your great grandmother Theresa LaResca Cuchinelli flipping right now. There is just something wrong with a food product called Toe Poo.

    • kelly

      Aww come on Thea……..
      Mel, I am on a mission….I am gonna find some more fake food to aggrivate your Mom!!! LOL!!

      • Melissa

        Well, with roughly 5% of the population being vegetarian, fear and benightedness runs rampant among some carnivores. My hope is this blog will educate and thus in turn, educated decisions can be made.

    • Melissa

      So much for the fond memories of tea together. This blog is about being mindful of what you eat, not lambasting. One bite to be polite or the author of this post will have to delete negative and unproductive comments.

  2. Mom

    I appologize to the writer and to the readers. My intent was not to lambast or be impolite. Sometimes the humor intended does not translate in the written word. Lesson learned.

    • Kelly

      Ahhh come on you two……we are just having some fun!! I know your Mom is just playing and she can’t help that she was raised with real sausage. She can’t help that………Let’s cut her a little slack….this time…….LOL!!! All’s well in our little blog world.

  3. laura

    I’m going to have to try this to believe it…can you say bechamel???
    Sorry inside joke for my favorite blogger

  4. Linda

    I love that you brought back the memories of all of our tea parties. Yes yes, more tea, more tea parties. Lovely memories with my favorite friends. So civilized. xxoo Secundo

Leave a Reply

