Lemon Cloud Tart With Rhubarb Compote

First off, photo credit goes to Ngoc Minh Ngo.  This blog if nothing else, has taught me that food photography is an art. I shot this tart over three days and finally said, “It tastes so much better than it looks on camera.”  Let’s just cut to the chase and get to the recipe.  Rhubarb is stacked high at the Farmers Market and realized that I have never bought nor cooked with it.  Which, led me to this recipe.  I’m a sucker for a lemon curd anything.

One interesting fact I read about rhubarb was that it is considered a vegetable, but a US court in NY in 1947 said that is was used as a fruit, so it was to be called a fruit, and therefore less taxes had to be paid on it.  I think that is one of the strangest things I’ve heard to date.

Fruit, vegetable, whatever…it is still delicious.

Balsamic Rhubarb Compote

Ingredients:

3 tbs. balsamic vinegar  * I used a strawberry balsamic vinegar*

2/3 cup sugar

3/4 tsp. grated, peeled ginger

2 fresh ruhbarb stalks, leave discarded, ends trimmed and stalks cut crosswise into 1/4″ thick slices

Procedure:

In a saucepan simmer balsamic vinegar with sugar and ginger, stirring until sugar is dissolved and stir in rhubarb.  Simmer until crisp-tender, about 1-3 minutes, and transfer with a slotted spoon to a bowl.  Simmer liquid until thickened slightly, about 5 minutes.  Remove from heat. Stir in rhubarb.  Serve warm or at room temperature.

Recipe adapted from Gourmet Magazine April 1995.


The Lemon Cloud Tart has several steps to it.  You will need to make the curd the day before and chill overnight.  It was very easy to make.

The crust gave me a run for my money.  I ended up having to add a few tablespoons of water to the dough as it wouldn’t hold together.

One thing I learned at NGI is that every step of the way, the tart dough needs to be chilled.  It adds a bit of time, but for an ideal crust, it’s essential to do this.  So make the dough and chill it.  Roll it out and chill. Put it in the tart pan and chill, and then you are ready to bake it.

So here is the recipe and okay….here is my picture.  Trust me…the cloud tart is worth all the effort, just eat it quickly and keep the camera hidden in its case!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

