Books, Events, & Some Treats

There are  a few items that have come across my radar in the food-related arena I thought I’d share.

Here are a few cookbooks that are on my list to read:

Love Soup by Anna Thomas

My brother sent me this book for my birthday. I had seen it at this years’ Green Festival and was intrigued because it won the 2009 James Beard Award. It’s broken into seasons and contains 160 vegetarian soup recipes.  Can’t wait to make the persimmon soup with parsnips and turnips or the or the Kabocha squash with kale and cranberry beans.

Dorie Greenspan: Around My French Table

Dorie is going on a book tour and will be in Naperville at Anderson Bookshop on October 14th @ 7:00 p.m. for a book signing.  I hope she serves up some seaweed sable cookies or goat-cheese mini puffs. I’m making her World Peace Cookies next month for the monthly dessert exchange.

The Fabulous Beekman Boys

Two guys from Manhattan buy a goat farm and are pretty much an overnight sensation.  There is a huge wait list for their cheese.  You can check out their reality show on Planet Green.  I’m waiting for the book at the library. Anybody read it yet?

Trader Joe’s Lime and Chili Cashews

Click on the link- the guy’s review summed it up perfectly.  I’ve tossed them over spaghetti squash and greens.  They are addictive!

De Buyer Swing Madoline

This one is on my Christmas list!

Logan Square Kitchen

Halloween Pastry Market on October 3oth & 31st – 10:00 a.m. – 3:00 p.m.

Free Flour!! This lady bought a 1000 bushels of wheat from the Chicago Board of Trade. That roughly ends up being 42,000 lbs. of flour. WOW!  She is basically paying it forward by giving out the milled flour for free to see what happens with it.  I just got 5 lbs. to make my World Peace cookies with.   I find it interesting that atop the CBOT building is the Roman Goddess of Grain, Ceres holding a sheaf of wheat in her hand.

Ground Cherries

I saw these at the farmers market. They taste like extra sweet tomatoes + the tartness of a gooseberry.  The farmer said they are great in apple pies.  So I baked this recipe up and have to concur!

*Pictures come from Amazon, Sauver, my camera or Wikipedia*

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

