Double Chocolate & Banana Tart

This little gem has been on my radar since I purchased Dorie Greenspan’s ‘Around My French Table’ cookbook last year.  There is nothing overly difficult about this recipe, just a lot of steps involved.  I made the chocolate tart shell a day ahead. This was a straight forward tart dough – almost sable cookie-like texture.  Mix all the dry ingredients plus one egg yolk and  you are done.  I pressed the mixture into the tart pan with my fingers, froze it for 30 minutes before baking and was finished baking in under 30 minutes.

The next day I sliced and caramelized one banana then let the pieces come to room temperature.  Once the pieces had cooled, I placed them in the bottom of the tart form and begin making the ganache; chocolate, cream, butter…all melted up and poured directly over the top of the banana pieces. I let the ganache set in the refrigerator for about 30 minutes.  Three bananas were sliced up and tossed with just a little squeeze of lemon juice to stop them from turning brown.  Once the spiral design was done, apricot jam was warmed up and  brushed over the slices.

Results: Bananas – Chocolate…how could you go wrong with that? This dessert had a great fudge-like texture mixed in with the subtle banana taste.  I was worried the chocolate shell would be overkill, but not at all.  This recipe is a keeper!  As long as you toss the banana slices with a little lemon and glaze them, the dish will hold up for a few hours.  I recommend bringing the tart to room temperature before inhaling.  Enjoy!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Double Chocolate & Banana Tart

  1. Linda

    This has been on my radar too! You beat me to it. Yummy!

  2. Mom

    It looks just like the picture in the cookbook. Good Job.

Leave a Reply

