2012 Movies & Food Pairings

It seems this past year I have gone to A LOT of movies.   I anxiously awaited the release of Jiro Dreams of Sushi a few months ago and researched the best Chicago sushi available to hit before the movie started.  So, I figured I’d take a look at the best movies I’ve seen thus far in 2012 and pair them with either a restaurant or recipe.  Hope you enjoy!

I went to Arami before seeing this movie. After eating here, I immediately made reservations for my birthday, it was that good.  I had read that a week later the head sushi chef B.K. Park left unexpectedly, and the place closed down for two weeks to revamp the menu and get staff back up to speed.  Arami is open now and hoping they are doing well. The movie was one of a kind. Be sure to rent it.

Well, I just couldn’t think of anything else to eat!  This movie was a true story about a funeral director who befriended a wealthy mean ol’ lady and ended up killing her.  He gave away tons of her money to the town folks and the police ended up finding her 9 months later in a deep freeze in her garage under a bunch of frozen food.

I would have to think one would have to go and have High Tea at The Peninsula .

This movie didn’t get mainstreamed, but I absolutely loved it.  My friend Laura made this recipe a few years ago and it has always been a summer favorite of mine.  Poached salmon with tarragon sauce & fingerling potatoes.

This was a great movie to show that growing old doesn’t have to be boring.  India looks so hot that I think I would have to make my favorite Indian drink…Mango Lassi.

A totally CHEESEY love story, but adored every minute of it.  Not to mention it took place in Chicago.  Their first date was at a little cafe that served wine and chocolate.  I’d have wine here and chocolate here.

Yep, I posted it!  And don’t feel bad about it.  If I was in Tampa (a.k.a. Ybor City) I’d be hitting Brocato’s and ordering up some roast pork, black beans/yellow rice and plantains.

Couldn’t put the books down and loved the movie as well.  Gets released this month on DVD…oh yeah.  Can’t believe we have to wait until November 2013 for the second installment. 😦  Either way, I think about the way the characters ate before the games began and I would have to think a trip to The French Laundry  was in order.

It’s rare when a movie like this comes along.  I would put it step with Little Miss Sunshine.  Unassuming, quaint, and will make you smile.  It takes place in New England, two young kids fall in love and run away and the locals try to find them.  All I think you need is a vat of melted butter,some steamed lobsters and a few potatoes. Oh and a rose wine…other than that, you are good to go.

By far one of the most important films I’ve ever seen.  I would definitely have to make creme fraiche cherry ice cream from here.

To finish out the year there are two movies I plan on seeing…

One must go to Sun Wah BBQ and get the Peking Duck.  If you haven’t been, get there!!

I’ve read this book so many times.  The ending is unbelievable.  I’m curious as to how it will play out into a movie. Since Pi and Richard Parker ate Dorado and landed in Mexico, think having a simple fish taco – Mexican style is the way to go.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

